Testimonials

To say that Spicer Manor is a beautiful house, in a beautiful location would be doing it an injustice. It is the kind of property that we all dream of owning and has been finished to the absolute highest of standards. Clearly seen in every small detail that has been hand-crafted by local craftsmen. Lisa and the team are absolute superstars in that they will accommodate almost any request and are always on hand should you need anything. The only complaint you will have when you leave is that you didn’t book a longer stay.
We were very privileged to celebrate our wedding at Spicer Manor in September 2019, hosting our family and friends in the many 5 star rooms. It was what we dreamed of when we imagined our wedding being an intimate get together with a big party (the speakers throughout kept the party going late into the evening!). With amazing views and a perfect setting, we couldn’t have asked for more, even though Lisa and the team over-delivered! Staying later and helping to keep glasses refilled and keeping the area looking spotless.
If you want a traditional wedding with all the clichés – stay away from Spicer Manor. It deserves much more than to be “just another wedding venue”. This place is special, and if you want your wedding to be an amazing experience that is talked of for years to come, then look no further than Spicer Manor. What a place.

Dan

An absolutely fantastic weekend celebrating my 40th! Please don’t take any notice of the 2 negative reviews from a while ago (apparently from the same party also) – the owners were welcoming and helpful, and the place stunning. We were in celebration mode for most of the weekend, using the amazing Bradley’s for breakfast and 3-course meal on the Saturday (highly recommend! 5 star service and food at a great price! They handle everything for you; set up, food, service and wash up! Bliss!). The facilities, layout and ambience of the house is superb – I couldn’t have hoped for a better place to celebrate my BDay. The hot tubs and cinema room are AMAZING also – a real treat! Thanks again to the team at Spicer and Big House Experience for making it a weekend to remember!

Tom Stroud Sept 20

This is a house that dreams are made of, the attention to detail made our stay even more relaxing. Lisa met us on our arrival, we found her very professional and couldn’t of been more helpful and welcoming, we were a small party who were looking for a luxury relaxing break. We have very high standards in our everyday lives and are usually disappointed when our expectations are not met when we go away. I can honestly say there was absolutely nothing to complain about. The personal chef was exceptional ( would definitely recommend) I just hope I’m lucky enough to go again!

Nicola Sparkes

We returned to Spicer Manor this summer for a second year.  We found this property to be very well presented and extemely clean. All the bedrooms are well furnished with fabulous bathrooms, most of them ensuite.  We particularly enjoyed the large garden at the front of the property with a fabulous view, where games could be played and youngsters could run around safely.  The hot tubs certainly enhanced our stay and were cleaned daily.  Even on the rainy days there was plenty to do with the games and cinema rooms as well as plenty of lounge space. Lisa was always particularly helpful in answering our questions and providing help.
Another thoroughly enjoyable week spent at Spicer Manor.

Lorraine Catterill August 2020

Delighted to speak for Decibel Insight UK and US leadership team in Sheffield. Great new venue too! Nick and Lisa are amazing hosts. Thoroughly recommend! 

(Twitter)

Jamil Qureshi - Performance Coach, Psychologist, Author and Keynote Speaker, January 2020

Spent New Year here with family, friends and our dogs! Amazing venue! Would highly recommended to anyone. Very well finished and furnished I would be proud to own this establishment! Thank you from all who stayed.

Mr Hind, January 2020

A luxurious weekend away… the house is stunning, something for all the family. Lovely meal from Bradley’s Catering too. The weekend was perfect, relaxing with friends, children in the hot tub and lots of competitions in the games room! Lisa has thought of everything and it is simply perfect; the lighting, heating and sound system, to the wonderful products in the bathrooms. Can’t wait to visit again. Thank you.

Layla Smith, November 2019

Stunning venue in immaculate condition. Great service, fantastic catering, beautiful location.

Sharon Swift, November 2019

We booked Spicer Manor for our corporate week where we strategise and spend time with each other outside of our usual work environment.

We found the house to be of a very high standard and was incredibly well equipped for everything we would need. The catering side had everything and more that you could possibly need to produce great meals. The bedrooms and facilities were luxurious and comfortable and the games room an added bonus. We never got chance to use the stunning outdoor hot tubs, however, hopefully we will next time.

We are already looking to book again for our next event. Definitely 5 out of 5.

Helen Allen, Alltruck PLC

A beautiful venue which has flexibility for all types of weddings. Lisa is an excellent host making sure everything is the very best it can be. If you are looking for an alternative venue with stunning views check this out. The house is built to a high spec with every detail considered.

 

Kay Brennan, October 2019

A fantastic property – everything has been exceptional. We have had an amazing weekend and couldn’t have wished for anything more.

Ange’s 50th birthday, September 2019

Spicer Manor, near Sheffield, is certainly recommended if you are planning a weekend away with friends. We had fun solving our 1950s Agatha Christie-inspired murder mystery, The Reading of the Will. Everyone had a role to play in this interactive murder mystery evening and of course Miss Mapletree was on hand to lead the investigation.

Miss Mapletree's Perfect Murder, Murder Mystery Specialist, September 2019

Great place for a family reunion. We had a blast and our twin boys had so much fun. A trip they’ll always remember!

Guests, August 2019

We’ve had a stunning week in a beautiful property celebrating a wedding anniversary and an 18th birthday party. We had a fantastic meal at the ‘Ye Olde Mustard Pot’ nearby that catered for all. Massive thank you to Lisa and co for all her amazing care!

Guests, August 2019

Just wanted to say want a great week we had. It was the perfect venue which everyone loved. So much so some stayed an extra day or two. The food was excellent and your staff a delight. The weekend weather just capped it all off. A gathering that will never be forgotten by everyone there. Thank you so much for helping make Emma’s 50th so special.

Paul Beasley, August 2019

Wonderful holiday home for four of our 40th birthday parties. It’s a beautiful house – Lisa has thought of everything. We didn’t want to leave and wish we had longer. Thank you for looking after us so well Lisa. Best wishes and good luck.

Guests, July 2019

Luxury venue to have a wedding, event and amazing stay. My piano looks and sounds great here too.

James Hey Piano

Working with Lisa on a project so close to home has been a wonderful experience. It has been excellent to see the potential of the abandoned farmhouse restored and put back to use. Our hope is that guests enjoy staying there and feel that our interior wrought ironwork is in keeping with the rustic yet modern; handsome yet cosy ambience of this rural retreat.

Nigel Tyas, Nigel Tyas Ironwork

A little note to say a big thank you for taking the time to show us your wonderful project. It’s fantastic! We look forward to working with you in the future. Great canapes enjoyed in excellent company at a perfect venue.

Chris Ward, Penistone Wine Cellars

Amazing property equipped with everything you will need and more. Great location for a celebration with family and friends. The owners are attentive and will help out with anything you need.

Tracey & Richard, June 2019

I have just spent a weekend here with my family, there were 18 of us for a birthday weekend. It is an amazing property, beautifully furnished, everything is top class and all the rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. Lisa is so helpful, and if you have caterers as we did, then ask Lisa about Andrew. I highly recommend Spicer Manor.

Joan, July 2019

We had a fantastic long weekend at Spicer Manor with family and friends. The house is amazing and finished to an incredibly high standard. Lisa, the owner, was so helpful with any queries that we had, and nothing was too much trouble. I can’t recommend it enough and we would love to stay there again.

Cherry, May 2019